Permissions in Sharepoint 2007

The Limited Access permission level is used to give groups access to a specific list, document library, item, or document, without giving them access to the entire site. Do not remove this permission level from the groups which has Limited Access by default. If this permission level is removed, the groups might not be able to navigate through the site to get to specific items with which they need to interact.

You should not customize the default permission levels if your organization has security or other concerns about a particular permission and wants to make that permission unavailable for all users assigned to the permission level or levels that include that permission. In this case, you should turn off this permission for all Web applications in your server farm, rather than change all of the permission levels. To manage permissions for a Web application, in Central Administration, on the Application Management page, in the Application Security section, click User permissions for Web application.

Advertisements

~ by Neha Sinha on January 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: