Ice Ice Babyyyy

Those were the days too…
Years back, mid December to mid January used to be vacations πŸ™‚
I always loved the winter breaks.
Not too long and exhausting like the summer vacations, the winters were just perfect! (I am more of a winter person anyway) πŸ™‚

While the summer breaks usually had not much fun, other than the small trips to hill stations, the winter was more a holiday for us kids. Visiting cousins, staying over their place for a few days n vice versa was the best part. We could play in the afternoons and watch movies etc in the evenings.

Some 20 years back… Refrigerators were new!! It was an asset to us kids πŸ™‚ ‘coz it gave us ‘free ice-creams’ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
So one winter break, when we were off to visit my mom’s sis and their family, we cousins were just yapping away the afternoon in the glory of the new refrigerators and the free ice-creams πŸ˜‰

Now this cousin M and me bonded really well. And every vacation we were definitely ought to think of something new to try.

M: I love the ice-creams that this blue refrigerator gives us in a matter of hours!

Me: Yeah !! and it is so easy to ‘prepare’ them too !!! I have mumma doing it so many times.. (mind you I was barely 6 or 7 at this time :P)

M: You know how to make them? (full of doubt, coz he was 10 then and he had less idea how to do it πŸ˜‰ )

Me: Yeah, its damn damn easy ! If you don’t trust me, then let it be…. πŸ™‚ (height-of-confidence you may say)

M: Nooo, I trust you lil sis !! Was just re-assuring πŸ™‚

Me: Okay πŸ˜€ (all happy on cloud 9 having convinced the elder bro ;))

M: You wanna make some ice-cream? We can enjoy it together….

Me: Yup, we can…. but it is winters… mom n masi(mom’s sis n M’s mom) might get angry at us……

M: Ya…. so what can we do………

Me: Ummm..lemme think… The elders are out shopping…… May be we can make ice-creams as surprise for them too !! Probably that will make them happy and we can eat our ice-creams easily πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ (This make-’em-happy-n-stay-happy-urself thing got into me so early!!)

M(all brightened up): Yayy… thats a good idea Devil (thats what he called me back then!)

So M and Me immediately got to work. We poured in roohafza (rose squash), water and sugar and started hunting for the ice-cream moulds… n Voila, we didnt find any.
Suddenly, M got the wildest idea ever ! He said, “Why not pour a little milk in it, and make it a better ice-cream in the cups”
Me: Yeah, I have no issues, but the parents may find out the surprise seeing the quantity of milk lesser…. n I won’t lie to them for sure !!!

M: Hmm thats true….. we can make milk !!!

Me: ‘Make milk’ ?? :O Nuts or whatttt !!! We dont even have a cow !

M: Heyyy chilll…. I’ll get it….. You are done with your job…. now just let me make a few additions! I know better, since I am 4 years elder to you!!!

Me: Yeah…4 years elder….go ahead….. I am leaving !!

M: ok… I’ll do the rest lil devil…. Dont you worry πŸ™‚

..boys !! I tell you!! Their little ego makes them do the impossible and the impractical most of the things!!
M mixed soap water with the ice-cream. He assured me that soap water is creamy and white and it can be used as a substitute for milk.. and to remove the smell of soap from the mixture he added more fragrant squashes…….
By this time I was less interested in the ice-creams and I was happily playing around.

Soon M’s dad returned home… He gave one of the ice-creams to him.. Uncle was highly pleased with our gesture πŸ™‚ and was enjoying the ice-cream when suddenly he said, “It is nice, but a little now and then it tastes a little soapy”… M and Me started looking at eash other… and finally told him that the ice-cream is soapy ‘coz it has ‘soap water’!!

Well..what happened next is history πŸ˜‰
All the ice-creams were sadly fed to the dustbin 😦 but yes, we got a learning that soap water is not same as milk!! and a box of (authentic) ice-creams too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Years have passed, but every time we meet, we laugh our hearts out at this incident !! πŸ˜€

~ by Neha Sinha on December 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
